The “Indonesian’s” English

Hi, guys!

in this post, I use English for presenting something that I want to write about.

It’s about the use of English in my course.

I don’t want to say the name of the course, it’s international.

I join an English course in my town, Jember, Indonesia. I really enjoy being in the part of the class. My friends are welcoming me nicely, and they always make me laugh over and over.

My course teaches us about the right grammar, like how to use “it”, how to use simple tense, or many other tenses. Yeah, and we are pretty good in grammar.

As a dual-language user, sometimes, I can be a translator in my original language and English. And you know, Bahasa Indonesia (Indonesian’s language) is a kind of language which uses alphabet as its written form. So, it’s almost as same as English. But not like Arabic, we can know the meaning in Bahasa Indonesia clearly because there is no swapping words. So, the arrangement of the words is just the way it is. We only have to translate word by word. While in English, the is a rule for “swapping words”.

For example :

Bahasa Indonesia : Celana merah (red pants)

                                Celana = pants, merah = red. It is swapped right?

and vice versa  : Rich man, in Bahasa Indonesia is “Orang Kaya”

                             Rich = kaya, man = orang.

Besides, the are many other rules in English, just like Japanese. Giving a “to be” is one of the rules. While in Indonesia, the are no “to be”.

For example : She is beautiful

                       in Bahasa Indonesia is, “Dia Cantik” (She = Dia, beautiful = cantik)

                       the “is” cannot be translated in Bahasa Indonesia.

just a few things about my language 🙂 for adding your knowledge 😀

here are words in my class which are classified as “Indonesian’s English” (translating word by word, without thinking the whole meaning of the sentence) :

– Malu-malu kucing = Shy shy cat

  which means shy ( I don’t know why there’s a cat/kucing)

– Pupuk bawang = Fertilizer onion

  which means too young to join the game

– Kemeja = to table (this one is so worrying -_-)

  which means shirt

 

You copy copy me” = “Kamu ikut-ikut aku”

Maybe the one who will laugh are the Indonesian’s reader, for those who are not, you will think that my post don’t have it’s point unless you have studied Bahasa Indonesia hardly.

That’s why, go see my country and explore some unique things in it!

Terima kasih 🙂

Salam,

Penulis 😀

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

